What are the major antitrust laws?

Cite this article as: Jason Mance Gordon, "What are the major antitrust laws?," in The Business Professor, updated January 18, 2015, last accessed March 30, 2020, https://thebusinessprofessor.com/knowledge-base/what-are-the-major-antitrust-laws/.

Next Article: FTC – Enforce Antitrust Law


What are the major antitrust laws in the United States?

Since the inception of antitrust law, the Federal Government has passed three sweeping antitrust laws:

•    The Sherman Act of 1890,

•    The Clayton Act of 1914, and

•    The Federal Trade Commission Act of 1914.

These acts still provide the primary sources of antitrust law effective today. They have been subject to amendment and are the source of an extensive web of regulations used to effectuate these statutes. They provide for both civil and criminal penalties for violations.

Was this article helpful?