Major Federal Consumer Protection Laws

Cite this article as:"Major Federal Consumer Protection Laws," in The Business Professor, updated January 17, 2015, last accessed May 26, 2020,

Next Article: Overview of Regulatory Agencies


What major federal laws protect consumers?

Consumer protection laws exist at both the federal, state, and local levels. Also, there are numerous private organizations that seek to promote fairness in consumer and commercial transactions. The following are the major federal consumer protection laws.

•    Federal Trade Commission Act

•    Equal Credit Opportunity Act

•    Fair Credit Reporting Act

•    Truth in Lending Act

•    Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

•    Consumer Financial Protection Act

•    Fair Credit Billing Act

•    Electronic Funds Transfer Act

•    Consumer Product Safety Act

•    Manguson-Moss Warranty Act

•    Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act

•    Various Labeling Laws

•    Privacy Act of 1974

•    Electronic Communication Privacy Act

•    Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act

Was this article helpful?