What are the Major Labor Laws?

Cite this article as: Jason Mance Gordon, "What are the Major Labor Laws?," in The Business Professor, updated January 15, 2015, last accessed March 29, 2020, https://thebusinessprofessor.com/knowledge-base/what-are-the-major-labor-laws/.

Next Article: Labor Union Laws (Norris-La Guardia Act)


What are the major federal labor laws?

•    Norris-LaGuardia Act – This law prevents courts from issuing injunctions (stop orders) to individuals or groups of striking employees.

•    National Labor Relations Act (or Wagner Act) – This law takes affirmative steps to allow unionization of employees.

•    Taft- Hartley Act – This law regulates a wide range of employer-employee conduct and is administered by the National Labor Relations Board.

•    Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act – This law took steps to protect the rights of union members with regard to union actions.

As stated above, states frequently pass laws that govern labor relations between employers and employees. These laws cannot conflict with federal law, but they may regulate labor relations in a way that is more restrictive than federal law.

•    Discussion: What do you notice about the evolution of labor laws from the simply descriptions above? Why do you think the legal approach to labor relations has taken this course?

Was this article helpful?