1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Certified Information Systems Auditor – Definition

Certified Information Systems Auditor – Definition

 Certified Information Systems Auditor Definition

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) is a global professional designation awarded to individuals that have a keen interest in Information Systems auditing and in particular manage IT and business systems for organizations. The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) awards this designation to competent individuals.

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) are generally professionals who exhibit competence controlling, auditing and managing information systems for organizations.

A Little More on What is a Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Individuals with technical skills such as auditors or audit managers, IT professionals, security professionals and consultants can apply for the CISA certification. To qualify for the Certified Information Systems Auditor certification, applicants must be trained by ISACA and pass the exam. There is also an amount of work experience in related industries that applicants must have before obtaining CISA certification.  After obtaining the certificate, holders of CISA must strictly adhere to the code of conduct, standards and ethics of Information Systems Auditing.

Certified Information Systems Auditor Exam

The examination for CISA contains 150 multiple choice questions which are available in many languages including Spanish, Korean, French, Chenes and Japanese. Candidates spend about 4 hours on the examination and are required to have a minimum of 450 to pass the exam.  The exam is conducted three times a year, June, September and December and candidates can sit for the exam worldwide. Candidates are tested on five major areas which are;

  • Information Systems Operations
  • Government and Management of IT
  • Process of Auditing Information Systems
  • Maintenance and Service Management
  • The Process of Auditing Information Systems

Certified Information Systems Work Experience Requirements

Below is a highlight of the requirements for CISA certification;

  • At least five years experience in information systems control, auditing and security.
  • A master’s degree or bachelor’s degree from a university that is in partnership with ISACA.
  • 60-120 semester credit hours must be completed in the University.
  • A year of experience in information systems.

Certified Information Systems Auditor Continuing Professional Education

After earning the Certified Information Systems Auditor designation, holders are required to undergo a continuing professional educational program. This will enhance their expertise in the field and keep them abreast of updates and changes in Information system control, auditing and security. The continuing professional education requires about 20 hours in a year and 120 hours in three years. Also, a maintenance fee is expected to be paid to ISACA by holders of the certification. Members of ISACA pay $45 while non-members pay %85.

Reference for “Certified Information Systems Auditor – CISA”

Was this article helpful?