1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Certified Fund Specialist – Definition

Certified Fund Specialist – Definition

Certified Fund Specialist

In the mutual fund industry, individuals with expertise in mutual funds who have been trained by The Institute of Business and Finance (IBF) and have passed their exams are awarded with a professional designation called Certified Fund Specialist (CFS). CFS is a certification that serves as evidence that an individual is well-versed in mutual funds and is competent in managing them. The Certified Fund Specialist is a certification to reckon with, it is one of the oldest in the industry.

A Little More on What is a Certified Fund Specialist (CFS)

The Institute of Business and Finance (IBF) train successful applicants on the necessary skills required to manage mutual funds competently, after the training, applicants are examined. After an applicant paases the IBF examination, he deserves to be awarded with the professional designation. The first training and examination for CFS was conducted in 1988 which was when it was founded.

Aside from the CFS certification, there are other professionals certifications that IBF awards qualified individuals. Some of them include Certified Estate and Trust Specialist, Alternative Investments certification Certified Tax Specialist, Certified Annuity Specialist and others.

CFS Test Outline

To obtain a CFS certification, applicants are required to pay a registration and tuition fee which costs $1,365 per applicant. Examination fee, materials and textbooks fee are included in the fee charged.  Here are the major areas in which CFSs are trained;

  • Mutual funds
  • Tax laws
  • Closed-end funds
  • Exchange-traded funds (ETFs)
  • Real estate investment trusts (REITs)
  • Fund selection and fund analysis
  • Risk management
  • Asset allocation
  • Estate planning and investment.

Furthermore, to obtain CFS, 2,000 hours of financial services work experience or an equivalent bachelor’s degree is needed. Before individuals sit for the CFS eam, they must have taken a six-module self-study program.

CFS Expertise

There are categories of individuals who can obtain the Certified Fund Specialist certification. Those that studies finance related disciplines or work in the finance industry are enrolled. The certification program can be completed in 15 weeks but participants can spread it across one year. Those who can obtain the CFS certification are;

  • Money managers
  • Stock brokers
  • Bankers Bank
  • Managers
  • Accountants
  • Financial advisors and
  • Financial planners

Professionals who undergo this program gain more expertise in mutual fund management and other financial related services. They are however required to have a continuing education which keeps them updated or abreast of information in the finance industry and mutual fund industry.

Reference for “Certified Fund Specialist – CFS”

https://www.investopedia.com › Investing › Mutual Funds


https://coming.training › Certifications › Accounting and Auditing



Was this article helpful?